[I’m] CRAZY! About peanut butter?

Standard

Can I just say that I have a lot on my mind?  Because I completely forgot to do the 30 day challenge on my last post.  So I figured I’d better post sooner to make up for it (and to share more food because, you know, I bake WAYY too much and am WAYY behind in my posting, so I’ve given up taking photos of a lot because there’s just so much!)  Wow.  That was a mouthful.  Or an eyeful…  whatever.

30 Day Challenge

Day 5 – A time you thought about ending your own life.

I’ll have to give you the truth.  This is not life shattering, and not interesting in the least…  But I can’t say I’ve ever thought about that.  Ever.  Honestly.  Life is great.  Even when it’s not, I don’t think it’s smart to ‘play God’, if you know what I mean.  It’s not really our choice to end our lives.  Yes, they are our lives, but God has given them to us, and He’ll take them away soon enough, when He deems the time is right.

And now I’ll get to the rest of the crazy.  First of all, it’s 10:30pm and I’m still baking.  A cake to be precise.  A cake with 8 eggs and 8 cups of flour (ie – a BIG cake!).  The reason for this cake, is that my grandmother is turning 75.  And we’re throwing a party for her.  A big party.  That’s right, the cake needs to be bigger, so onto the chocolate layer I go.  (Well, after this post.)

Second of all, I have a zillion other things to bake tomorrow, plus decorate the cake.  Decorating cakes for me, is a time when everyone should probably stay out of the house kitchen.  I get kind of tense.  I hate to admit it, but it’s true.  Like, don’t look at me, don’t watch me, don’t speak to me, don’t even breathe around me.  Please.  (My poor, poor hubby…)

Thirdly, on Saturday, there is a 5k run/walk, and I’m registering… right now for it.  Kicking myself in the head, really a race?  Man.  I need to get back in shape.  I’m petrified…  But hopefully I’m still alive afterwards, because that’s also the day of the party for my grandmother, AND I have to make sandwich-type food that day too.  Hopefully there’s an urn of strong coffee somewhere in my travels that day.  An urn.  Not a mug.  Not a cup.  A 20 cup urn.  And chocolate.  And ice cream.  Okay, I’m getting in way over my head now (or I’m just over-tired and actually sharing with you what’s going through my brain).

Okay, and now, I’ve just spent half and hour trying to find a recipe that I made (I DID make it…  it DID exist at some point, somewhere) without success.

Nix that!!  I just found it!  Okay folks.  Let the recipe sharing begin.  I found this recipe on the Novice Chef, and made a few changes.

Peanut Butter Cream’wiches  (The EGG-LESS version – not on purpose)

1 cup shortening

1 cup sugar

1 cup brown sugar

1 Tbsp vanilla

1 cup peanut butter

1/2 cup water

3 cups flour

2.5 tsp baking soda

Preheat oven to 350.  Cream together shortening, and sugars.  Mix in vanilla, peanut butter and water.  Add flour, and baking soda and mix until well combined.

Roll into 1 inch balls and then roll into white sugar.  Place on cookie sheet and press with a fork.

Bake for about 8 minutes.  Cool, and then fill with Peanut Butter Filling!

Peanut Butter Filling

1 1/2 cups peanut butter

1/2 cup margarine, softened

1 cup icing sugar

1 Tbsp vanilla

1 tsp salt

Cream all ingredients together, until smooth.

Fill those cookie cream’wiches!  (Remember – wait until they are cooled first, or you’ll have peanut butter soup between two cookies.)

**NOTE:  The first thing I baked in my own house, and I was pumped to make them.  New house, peanut butter cookies with PEANUT BUTTER FILLING?!  Who wouldn’t be pumped?  Anyhow, I started putting things together in a mixing bowl, and discovered there were no eggs.  Devastated, or what?  I decided to improvise…  So that’s how the recipe changes came about.  If you want your cookies too look as pretty as the Novice Chefs, use eggs.  Just thought you should know.

In ending this post tonight, I just wanted to share a passage with you guys.  I read it yesterday, and I found it really encouraging.  You’ll find it in the Psalms.

“Make me to know your ways, O LORD;  teach me your paths.
Lead me in your truth and teach me, for you are the God of my salvation; for you I wait all the day long.”
Psalm 25:4-5 ESV

The whole chapter is really great, but these two verses just really stood out to me the other morning.  Teach me, lead me.  That is what I want.

Have a great Friday, and weekend following!

Leave a Reply

