Vegetarian Quiche

Standard

I love eggs.  And this post…  is about eggs.

Earlier this week, I had to make a meal for one of my friends that just became a new mom for the third time.  What to make, what to make?  This thought crossed my mind all day the day before.  What I decided…

I made quiche!

I used eggs from my father-in-laws chickens (which I really should have taken a picture of, because they are amazingly big, super healthy, and natural…  so good), so that made these quiches EXTRA good.

Quiche a la Bebe Marc

(Makes 2 9-inch quiches)

Pie crust for 2 pies

3 ribs of celery, chopped

1 onion

1 green pepper

8 eggs

1 cup cheddar cheese, grated

1/2 cup coconut milk

1 cup milk

1 Tbsp flour

1 tsp salt

1 tsp pepper

2 tsp parsley

Pinch chili powder

1 Tbsp melted butter

Preheat your oven to 350F.  Line 2 9-inch pie plates with pie dough.  Sprinkle celery, onion, peppers and cheese over pie crust.

 

In a bowl, whisk together eggs, milks, flour, salt, pepper, parsley, chili powder and melted butter.

Whisk until combined.

Pour over vegetables and cheese in pie plate.

Bake quiches for 30-45 minutes (it really just depends on the oven), or until set.

I was super impressed with myself on this recipe.  I wanted a vegetarian dish, but I didn’t want it to be lacking in flavour – and it wasn’t!  It looked good, smelled good, and tasted great.

It must have been good, because my hubby ate over half of it!

*Note – you can substitute the coconut milk for regular milk or water.

Now to the 30 Day Challenge.

Day 1 – Your current relationship

Well, my current relationship has been my one and only, and will be my one and only. God willing.  I have been married to my amazing hubby for almost 2 years now.

We got married in June 2010

And while that isn’t very long, we’ve known each other our whole lives, and have been ‘together’ for 7 years now.  He is the love of my life.  Yes, we snap at each other, and get on each others’ nerves.  But more than that, we love each other, laugh together, cry together, talk, live….  And have an amazing little boy together.

We’ve been through a lot, and will go through a lot more.  I know, though, that no matte what happens, we will stick it out.  God is behind us, and will give us the strength we need to stay together and get through life together.

I love my hubby so much.  He’s quirky, a great guy, funny, and so good at so many things.

I could say so much more than that, but this my relationship in a nutshell.

Now you know.

Day one of the 30 Day Challenge.  Check.

What about you?  How’s your current relationship?  Do you enjoy eggs as much as me?

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: A Food Kind of Day « foreverfaithandfood

Leave a Reply

