Pumpkin Everything

Standard

So, tis the season…  For pumpkin that is!  I love how the different seasons bring their own tastes, ingredients, aromas, and feels.  Right now, I could do with pretty much pumpkin anything.  The other day, I made a Dutch Pumpkin Apple Crisp (so good!), I’m currently craving a Pumpkin Spice Latte, I’m planning on making Pumpkin Cheesecake Squares this weekend, and TODAY I made Pumpkin Cranberry Bread.  As I said, pumpkin everything – literally.  If I had a pumpkin candle, you can be sure that would be lit in the kitchen too (what a good idea!).

So, I thought I’d share my very first recipe on foreverfaithandfood!  Hope you enjoy this Pumpkin Cranberry Bread recipe!

Pumpkin Cranberry Bread

 1 ½ cups flour

½ tsp salt

½ tsp baking powder

½ tsp baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon

½ tsp each ginger, cloves, and nutmeg

2 eggs

1 cup mashed pumpkin

1/3 cup canola oil

1/3 cup sugar

1/3 cup brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla

1 cup dried cranberries

 In a bowl, combine the eggs, pumpkin, oil, sugars, and vanilla.  Mix well.  Add the flour, salt, baking powder & soda, and spices.  Mix until flour is moist.  Stir in cranberries.  Pour into a greased loaf pan.  Bake at 350 for 55 minutes, or until toothpick stuck in the middle comes out clean.

If you want to change it up a bit, substitute fresh cranberries for the dried (but if you do this, add 1/4 cup more flour).  OR, you can omit the cranberries, and add raisins, chocolate chips, or pecans.  If you want a slightly healthier version, use 1/4 cup apple sauce and 1/4 cup oil, instead of just oil, and cut back on the sugar by using only 1/2 cup total.  You can also use a low-cal sweetener, but use less of it than you would sugar.

If you like pumpkin, check out my Pumpkin Cheesecake Squares!

Hope you all enjoy it!!

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Pumpkins too « foreverfaithandfood

  2. Pingback: Blueberries « foreverfaithandfood

Leave a Reply

