Fondant and a Wedding Cake

Standard

Spring is here (for today anyway)!  It’s sunny and a high of 12C.  Not warm to some of you, but it feels pretty great to me!

Wedding Cake

So this has been a long time coming.  I’ve been meaning to post it since early December, but of course, haven’t.  A friend of ours got married, just a small, very quaint wedding, and she asked me to make the cake.  Numero dos on the wedding cakes for me.  First one was for a friend in August, but that one was with buttercream.  This was my first attempt at fondant [EVER], and I made the fondant myself from scratch.  Which was pretty sweet, slightly nerve-wracking, and yummy!  I liked the taste quite a bit more than pre-made, bought fondant.

I used a pound cake recipe for the cake, and made 4 layers (2 bigger, 2 smaller).

Bottom layers

Then I made a peanut butter cream filling for in between layers.  Coated it with buttercream, and then layered the fondant on top.

Fondant, second layer

Then decorated with blue coloured buttercream.  It was quite the process, even for a small cake.

Wedding cake

Marshmallow Fondant Recipe

You can find one very similar to the one I used at HowDoesShe.  Check it.

Hats!

{Daddy and baby strutting their hats.}

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

